About the Foundation

Our mission
Bates Technical College Foundation exists to support student and program success by securing resources through building community relationships and awareness.

Who we are
The Bates Technical College Foundation was established in 1993 as a 501c3 nonprofit organization by a small group of committed volunteers. Over the years, the Foundation has grown and now has a Board of Directors comprised of volunteers, and two college staff. In 2007, the Foundation took a significant leap forward, establishing its first endowed scholarship. Today, the Foundation has significantly increased its endowed scholarships. The Foundation awards over $125,000 in students scholarships each year and also supports the college through providing program support, mini grants, equipment donations, exceptional faculty awards, and more.

Donor Bill of Rights
The Foundation strictly adheres to the Donor Bill of Rights.

Foundation Financials
The Foundation’s fiscal year operates from July 1-June 30. The Foundation is audited annually. Donor information is not shared with or sold to individuals or organizations. To see the foundation’s IRS Form 990 or audited financial statements, please email us for a copy.

Bates Foundation Board of Directors
The volunteer Board of Directors oversees all operations of the Foundation, including financial management, fundraising, special events, policy direction and strategic planning. The Board meets five times per year.


Debbie Winskill, Secretary

Greg Markley, Treasurer

Jeff Pickering, Vice Chair

Linda Jadwin, Chair


George Thornhill

Mike Jones, DVM

Sue Petersohn

Toby Murray

Ex Officio

Dr. Lin Zhou, President

LeAnn Dreier, Development Specialist

Sarah Allen, Executive Director of Foundation

Contact Info

Foundation Office

Downtown Campus, A332

(253) 680-7160, foundation@batestech.edu

Sarah Allen

Executive Director of Foundation


LeAnn Dreier

Foundation Specialist